HomeECA Certificate InstructionsGeneral InstructionsHow to get the Correct Browser

1.2. How to get the Correct Browser

Netscape Navigator:


  Netscape Navigator Download Site - download current version.


Internet Explorer:


  Internet Explorer Download Site - download current version.


Sensitive But Unclassified (SBU) Data must be protected during transmission according to the Computer Security Act of 1987. This act names the Federal Bureau of Standards, now the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), as responsible for developing standards and guidance to ensure data protection. NIST has developed Federal Information Processing Standards (FIPS) to define these guidelines.

FIPS 140-1, Security Requirements for Cryptographic Modules, applies "to all Federal agencies that use cryptographic-based security systems to protect unclassified information within computer systems."

NIST has established a validation program for encryption modules. The current list of validated modules can be found at:

For more information on FIPS 140-1, see the NIST Cryptographic Standards Validation Programs at: http://csrc.ncsl.nist.gov/cryptval.


This page was: Helpful | Not Helpful